The Shining

This time on Tapes on Books, Stephen King’s harrowing horror classic, The Shining. A nearly unhinged writer takes his telepathetic son to the worst place on earth for nearly unhinged writers and telepathetic children, a remote haunted mountain resort with a proud and long-standing tradition of slaughter. Gruesome antics ensue.

Listen to the mix with us, Danny. Forever. And Ever. And Ever.

The Mountains: Opening with Sighs – Goblin / Lost Something In the Hills- Sibylle Baier

Jack Torrance: King Volcano – Bauhaus
I’m no shrink, but I might have a few second thoughts about an unstable, violent, recovering alcoholic struggling writer surviving alone with his family for months. Sounds like a recipe for disaster. The evil hotel encouraging you to murder your family is the proverbial icing on the crazy cake. Or is that the proverbial blood gushing out the elevator?

The Shining/Danny Torrance: Do I Have Power – Timber Timbre
This kid is freaky not because his telepathic abilities, but because he thinks like a 35 year old man (I still wasn’t doing that at 40). Oh, and his non-invisible invisible friend who gets a kick out of showing him grisly visions. That too.

The Overlook: Hotel – Dirty Beaches / Heartbreak Hotel – John Cale
At some point in the mid nineties, I went up to this place in the middle of the night, drunk, obviously, and was able to sneak around all over. Though I never came across any twins or abandoned Big Wheels, it was the second scariest hotel I’ve ever been in. Of course, the first one was scary mostly due to the dead hobo stench and clown paintings.

The Wasps: Page 1 – Fantomas
“Gee, Dad, thanks for the wasps’ nest. They’re all dead, right?”

The Topiary Animals: Fatal Flower Garden – Nelstone’s Hawaiians
Sentient angry hedge animals is number seven on my all-time terrifying things list. Right above talking to girls and right below a dentist riding a horse-sized hairless cat.

Delbert Grady: This House is Haunted – Alice Cooper
I am not sure I’d take parenting advice for the haint groundskeeper who recently axed down his family, but I have to admit Delbert is pretty darned charming. It’s like he has the personality of Casper, but the self control of Slimer from Ghostbusters

The Ballroom and the Bartender: A Good Man is Hard to Find – Bill Haid & His Cubs
This might be the sweetest bartending gig of all time, aside from the terrible tips, I assume.

Jack’s Typewriter: Page 2 – Fantomas
Type. Type. Type. Type. Type. Type. Type. Type. Type. Type. Type. Kill. Bedtime.

Snowed In: Just You and I – Angelo Badalamenti / Coldest Night of the Year – Vashti Bunyan
The disheartening isolation consistent in this book is enough to make anyone rethink your vacation plans at that quaint cabin. This is, unless, you do happen to be some sort of crazed psycho-killer. If only Wendy had been able to live tweet these events for us.

Room 217: My Body’s a Zombie for You – Dead Man’s Bones
In the edition of The Shining that I have this room makes its first appearance on page 217. Eek, extra creepy! I’m pretty sure my wife would venture into 217 if it was Ryan Gosling’s rotting corpse. Ah, what a meme that would make.

“Redrum”: Redrum – Tom Waits
I have actually drank red rum once that caused me speak backwards. Now, that was scary.

The Grady Twins: Thank Heaven for Little Girls – Ed McMahon
Yeah, yeah, I know that the twins weren’t in the book as such. But the creepiness of Kubrick’s iconic image can only be sonically matched by Ed McMahon terrifyingly singing about children. Sleep with the lights on, kids.

The Dogman: Page 6 – Fantomas
“I’m going to eat you, little boy.” (shiver)

Dick Hallorann: Help Is On Its Way – The Centimeters
Respect to Dick for using his power for good. If I had the “shining”, I’d probably just order a bunch of pizzas from bed, save up my text messages, and prank shine other psychics.

Wendy Torrance: It’s Over – Roy Orbison / It’s Useless to Struggle – The Gothic Archies
Ah, the deafening damsel in distress…makes you almost root for Jack. Sorry to go back to the movie, but is Shelley Duvall attractive? I can never tell. And, how great would the movie version be had Robert Altman directed it, using the same cast he used for Popeye? That would have made for the best super scary shitty musical ever!

Jack Cracks: Paranoia – Hawkwind / I Broke Up – Xiu Xiu
SNAP. CRACKLE. POP.

The Chase and The Roque Mallet: Jangling Jack – Nick Cave
The roque mallet is an underutilized murder weapon, in my opinion. Adds a bit of distinction, class, and sportsmanship to the whole bashing brains out bit.

Boiler Explodes/Jack Burns: Wildfire – Langley School Music Project
I think we’ve all been there when we let our daily chores go by the wayside in times of emotional distress and family strife. But, you know, probably not quite this bad. Stephen King’s important public service reminder to make sure you check your pilot light before you go completely nutso.

Escape/The End: In Heaven (Everything is Fine) – Lady in the Radiator
Well, as that one guy said, we all shine on…

Leave a Reply

